Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games I... » PR & Marketing    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
Page 3 out of 5 | <<<12345>>>
A developer asks: Are our press releases helping you at all?
Ian you lucky devil. I've had nothing but sorrow from Sony Asia getting ANYTHING from them, even when I'm using the muscle of one of the bigger papers I write for *sorrow*

On the flip side, Popcap is great in Europe *thumbs up* Since I'm a freelancer and use gmail it's sometimes hard to get PR/devs to believe in me (I have to actually include a cc to my bosses with "proper" magazine emails) but Popcap never once disbelieved me.

James: There's a reason that PR is nicknamed "The Dark Side" you know ;)

Packing more information into a press release would be great (You have no idea how many press releases I've read contain absolutely NOTHING worth nothing, or only skim the surface on details). I understand PR is there to hype up the game alongside Marketing, but Christ above guys, I need SOMETHING to go on when I find something interesting to write a story on.

Some might see it as "manipulating the press to print what we(PR) want" which is true - a lecturer in one of my classes actually discussed this issue with my class in university. I tend to see it as aiding the journalist.

Unlike, say, a hard news story on the latest happenings in Iraq or covering a minister's event, games are pretty much set-in-stone in the sense that changes can occur, but more often than not most of the good stuff is already planned by the time a press release comes out. A preliminary press release might have nothing to go on - the devs truly might have absolutely nothing other than a cool name and an idea in their head - but getting ready to follow that up in the future would be more helpful than simply having the one release and praying journalists will jump on the story.