Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games J... » Video - TV Shows ...    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
GAME TIME! thoughts, feedback and critques
Hello all,

My name is Jerry Bonner. I'm a writer who in the past several years has written for GQ, EGM, 1UP, Ars Technica, Yahoo!, What They Play and several other outlets.

Last year, I developed/produced several, video game related TV/Web shows. While I was working for What They Play, I created a TV/Web show called GAME TIME! Unfortunately,  the show never got to take off because WTP was sold to IGN shortly after the pilot episode was completed. IGN has their own agenda and quickly jettisoned the majority of the original WTP staff and any projects we were working on. As Kurt Vonnegut so aptly put it, “So it goes.”

GAME TIME! is a family oriented TV/Web show that revolves around one household and their collective love of video gaming. Important lessons are proffered during the course of this show but nothing is forced – everything is present in a fun and entertaining manner. My overall “vision” for
GAME TIME! is to combine live action, animation and puppetry ‐ kind of an “Electric Company” or “Sesame Street” for the video gaming set.

The first/pilot episode, “Solid Steve Vs. The M‐Rated Games” tackles the issue of game ratings, what is or isn’t appropriate for children and how parents can approach that by thinking outside the rating on the box; using the ESRB/PEGI ratings as a helpful guide, rather than a hard‐line rule.

Fortunately, I found a new home for the series at Retroware.tv and will be making new (and improved) episodes. What I'd like is the Gameleon community's feedback before I/we move forward. The main issue in the first episode is the lighting, that much I know. :^)