Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games J... » General Games Jou...    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
New Freelancer - Writing a Resume?

Hi!

I'm a new Freelancer and before I begin I must thank Mitchell Dyer with all my heart for pointing me to this site here. Without it I wouldn't be happy again. =)

Okay, first, I know nothing about the Freelancer world. I simply like the idea that I can decide when I do reviews and articles and news, etc.

So, what I'm writing to you about, is that I'm finding it hard to write my first resume to outline and showcase the links for my published works (I've been writing for a site for about a year now, so I want to show my work).

Okay, obviously you resume is meant to showcase your published works, but can you say...pull out three reviews that are your best pieces to showcase while still showing the rest if potential Contractor wants to read the rest of them. But you're the idea is to say, "Look, these three I'm most proud of, the rest I like too, you're welcome to read them but to save you time I'm going to show you my best work."

Also, if I've been a ghost writer on some reviews, can I put them in my resume? I ask because some of these I've helped write were AAA games. Perhaps choose a top three I'm most proud of to put at the top and put the rest at the below it should they potential contractor/boss wish to read some of them.

Also, what about pieces I've edited? I had a thought that I could put in three pieces that were my best pieces in keeping the writer's vision but also keeping the site's vision too. I thought maybe the idea of picking three edited reviews would help make that a theme throughout my resume? My thought was to help save the reader time, but leave things open so they could choose to do what they want.

Just a thought I had.