Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games J... » General Games Jou...    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
Business Card tips for aspiring professionals
I posted this on the Videogame Journos board first, but in the interest of polling as many people as possible I've brought it here as well.

I've come to a point where even though I don't get paid to write, I'm being asked for business cards. I'd like to get your thoughts on what makes a good card in this profession.

I also have a few specific questions:
- Since I'm a volunteer writer for a small site, should the card present me as a writer for that site (even though no one has heard of it) or should I get that information across as I introduce myself and just let the card provide contact info?
- Someone told me I should have a fax number. Are they nuts?
- Which makes the most sense: "gaming journalist", "gaming reporter", "videogame journalist", "videogame reporter", or something else?
- Are graphics appropriate?

If you guys have any examples of cards you've liked or cards you use yourselves, that would be awesome.

Thanks!

1 topics   3 posts
I remember rather hurridly creating a business card for one of the first sites I was writing for, which was voluntary, and only later realised this was pretty pre-emptive when I'd started to contribute to a few different sites.
I would recommend for journalism creating a card that represents you and not the site, then you can always use it wherever your writing goes.

I've noticed some people add their LinkedIn url to cards now, I think that makes good sense if it's a card purely for you, a quick link what is almost a virtual CV, probably really useful if you've given your card to a prospective employer too :)

1 topics   17 posts