Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games I... » PR & Marketing    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
Page 1 out of 5 | <<<12345>>>
A developer asks: Are our press releases helping you at all?
While I have more than ten years of experience in marketing, I'm pretty new to PR. I've a lot to learn and I can't think of a better way than asking games journalists direct.

I recently read this article on reviving the press release. Be warned, the blogger is one who uses twenty words where one would do. And most of those twenty are new-media-guru-waffle. Still, buried in the web2.0 nonsense is something worthwhile I think.

I'll save you time by summarising the main point - the standard press release format is tailored for print media, therefore it is not effective for online media.

The writer suggests including images, links, tags, embed codes, social bookmarks and a bunch of other stuff in the press release, bundling it together in something he calls a "social media release". (I know this is the sort of wank that gives marketers a bad name. Please try and look past the packaging and think about the idea.) 

Question 1: Would this additional content (images, links, etc) make it easier for you to turn a press release into a story? Would it be welcome?

I found it odd that this so-called expert didn't address the quality of writing in press releases. Every press release I've seen, including his example, is written in an awkward, overly-formal corporate style that just seems to get in the way of sharing the story. I've never seen this style of writing used in any other form of marketing and don't understand why it's required for a press release.

Question 2: Does the formal style of the press release make it easier for you to write your content? Would it help if the release was written in an everyday style? 

The blogger works in PR, so it's not surprising that he also failed to ask the fundamental question which is: