Search:
Location Search   Member Search
  Browse   Categories   Games I... » General Games Ind...    

Forum
Forum
Discuss and share thoughts and interests
Anyone Else As Disgusted As I Am?
 As a gaming journalist, I feel that we as an industry are letting the publishers/developers get away with making excuses as to why thier products suck or do not work correctly. I just saw a response from John Smedley the President of Sony Online on twitter to someone who was talking about the lag in DCUO. I quote "we are working on the lag. Very bluntly this has been a wee bit more successful than we planned on. Sorry".

This to me is a total cop out. Our game is not working right due to it being more successful than they thought it would be? So your telling me either you didn't think that your game was good enough or that you just didn't care. I understand things happen but it seems that more and more these companies are pushing crap down our throats and until we start standing up as an industry and saying something, things will not change.

2 topics   6 posts
Hmm...in this case I'm not sure.

I'm not saying that publishers/developers don't often make stupid excuses. EA's recent "whoops, we forgot to include Battlefield 1943" bit with the Battlefield 3 was pretty lame for instance. That said, in the case of MMOs especially, I feel it's still untested waters to an extent. DCUO received at best a mediocre reception when it first launched. It wasn't a critical bomb, but it wasn't lauded either. Now reports are coming out that since going free to play its revenues have jumped 700%? For that kind of increase you'd need a massive boost in its audience and I could honestly buy a company not being prepared for that.

5 topics   11 posts